Real Simple

I’m sorry I’ve been away so long. I *still* can’t talk much about the changes and plans and new plans our family is dreaming and scheming right now. I can say I am finally through the worst of my pregnancy nausea…that’s right we’re expecting our second baby sometime between Christmas and Valentine’s day. I learned my lesson about giving out due dates last time around when Sapphire came 13 days “late.” I wanted to keep quiet for a while *though it really is against my nature*! – there were a few concerns but all seems well now. We are hoping for a beautiful homebirth VBAC…but really prepared for anything.

This weekend along with all the other changes and possibilities going on right now, I came down with a cold. And there hadn’t been much preparation for Father’s day either with all the yucky nausea. So, we all embraced simple. Homemade iced cappuccino’s and a hot milk cake with whipping cream and fresh strawberries. It was actually perfect…not too sweet at all.

Our iced cap recipe is derived from a dear friend who used to work at Starbucks. I will say it’s not entirely healthy but if you play around with it, it can be healthier. I can’t believe how easy and cheap it is to make these yourself at home. They can be made for about 25 cents depending on your choice of ingredients.

DIY Iced cap:

5 ice cubes

1 Tbsp either decaf or reg instant coffee

2 Tbsp sweetened condensed milk (Haley likes one, I like two)

2 Tbsp reg milk of choice

Blend until smooth.

We have also made it with regular milk and honey, though it tends to not bled well, it does suffice. You could also try raw sugar, maple syrup, agave. Basically it’s important to have the right ratio of coffee +ice+milk like stuff+ sweet depending on your tastes. I have been to health food stores that made versions of this with bamboo coffee substitute and it was also great!

Hot Milk Cake +strawberries + whipping cream:

1 ½ cups sugar (I used brown)

3 eggs

1 ½ cups flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

¾ cup milk

2 tbsp butter

1 tsp vanilla

Beat eggs until light and thick, slowly add sugar and beat with a spoon 5 mins or 2 ½ mins with beaters. Heat milk on stove until hot, then fold in sifted dry ingredients and milk into egg and sugar mixture all at once. The folding in of the dry ingredients and milk should take only one minute. Bake in one of those cake pans that creates a hole in the middle of the cake (see my lack of technical expertise!?) Bake in greased pan at 350 for 30 mins.

This is my slightly modified version of a recipe from my Grandmother’s recipe box with the name “Estella Miner” on it. So thank you Estella. This is a favorite family recipe a tad simpler than angle food cake or shortcake.

I simply used a medium carton of whipping cream and two pints of strawberries. Slice up strawberries. Whip cream. Carefully with bread knife slice cake into two layers (once cool) and put whipping cream followed by a strawberry layer. Replace top and repeat on top. J

I’ve really felt inspired by Chelsea’s new simplified approach to her blog Lady I swear by all flowers, and right now in my life I feel I need to adopt the same approach for my blog as well as my life. Tell me what you think if you try out the recipes. Happy father’s day.

And check out this lady’s awesome cartoons for a great laugh J

~Laura

This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Real Simple

  1. yummy it’s all about the strawberry’s!! Thanks for the update on your family.. I feel your excitment and amazing creative energy flowing!! Lots of love
    Nicole

Leave a Reply

