a time to every purpose…

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time for every purpose under heaven

A time to be born, a time to die
A time to plant, a time to reap
A time to kill, a time to heal
A time to laugh, a time to weep
-the Byrds

Cycles, rhythms and timing have been running through my mind lately. It’s, *ahem* that time in my cycle…and it’s winter, and we’re sick, yet again, and I have a baby under one. So, in general, it’s a time to re center and focus on now, to be quiet as much as possible because we’re all growing and changing so much just naturally as we learn ourselves as people, and our rhythm as a family. When you add those natural lulls like a woman’s natural bleeding time it becomes imperative to listen, to be in sync.

Today was one of those days that Sapphire would not stop whining, and Haley had forgotten some errands and was running late AND I’d been up for four hours helping said baby get back to sleep over, and over, and OVER. Normally I am more patient, but today I snapped “Pleeeasse STOP whining! I just want to sit by MYSELF and READ!” and she just needed me to hold her and share what I was doing. How do you learn to balance your needs with your child’s? What if you are burning out? Yet even then, I find the strength to carry on and something always works out. In any case, I realized that when aunt flo is visiting my mind, mood, and energy level will all but force me to sit still, have time away to reflect. If I don’t, my family suffers, and I suffer. So why don’t we as women schedule some time for ourselves to reflect at least once a month. A mental health day, a hiatus, a break… how far away we’ve gotten from nature’s rhythms.

Something I learned at Wilderness Awareness School is that Nature isn’t just “out there”…it’s in us, in our bodies…we ARE nature, whether we like it or not. Nature is messy, Nature is cyclical. Nature takes breaks. And even in those pauses, important things happen..things compost, reset, breathe out, stretch, grow, hibernate… To be closer to nature we have to begin with ourselves, our cycles, our awareness of our cycles. That is the beginning of the environmental movement, that is the beginning of peace.

Have peace and take a break with me. Pause and linger. Ask for help. Nature awaits.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a time to every purpose…

  1. Jese says:

    oh yes sometimes i find ‘please just leave me alone!’ on the tip of my tongue and that is my que to WHOAAAAA what needs to change here. sometimes a pestering 3 year old can really jangle the nerves.

    how is sapphire doing? just regular sleep issues or worse because she is sick??
    boy we had some TOUGH nights teething and now i am so happy with my up 3-4 times a night to nurse. perspective!
    my cycle didn’t return until 15 months with elaina, i’m hoping for at least a year with macy. it helps to have some sense of being recharged before it starts and we’re not there yet!
    but i will still have peace and take a break with you! hmm perhaps a bath.

Leave a Reply

